Evening Lectures  2020 at 8:00 pm in Rathmichael School, Stonebridge Road, Shankill, Co. Dublin – View Location

Wednesday 8th January: The Doubedat Scandal
by Richard Dolan

Wednesday 5th February: The Life and Times of William Orpen
by Dominic Lee

Wednesday 4th March: Wolfe Tone, Matilda and Family
by Larry Breen

Wednesday 1st April: Mary Mulligan: Neighbour to Countess Markievicz
by Peadar Curran. Note that this lecture was postponed to 6th January 2021 due to the Covid 19 virus.

Summer Lecture Series (Via Zoom)

Monday 17th August: Dronehenge: the Discovery of a Giant Late Neolithic Monument near Newgrange by Anthony Murphy.

Tuesday 18th August: Early Irish Sculpture and the Art of the High Crosses by Roger Stalley.

Wednesday 19th August:  The Leo Swan Memorial Lecture: The Best Preserved Early Monastery in the World by Chris Corlett.

Thursday 20th August: Carriglea House: Witness to History by David Doyle.

Friday 21st August: ‘Uncovering the historic port: The Alexandra Basin Redevelopment project by Niall Brady.

These lectures will be delivered by Zoom. If you are not a member and are not on our mailing list and would like to view the lectures, please send your e-mail address to info@rathmichaelhistoricalsociety.ie

Note that the delivery mode of the following lectures will be decided after a review of the Summer Lecture Series in August.

Wednesday 7th October: Old Houses of Shankill by Peter Pearson

Wednesday 4th November: The Shadow War: Michael Collins and the Politics of Violence by Joe Connell

Wednesday 2nd December: 19th Century Suburbs of Monkstown and Glasthule by Laura Johnstone

2021 Programme

Wednesday 6th January: AGM, followed by Mary Mulligan: Neighbour to Countess Markievicz by Peadar Curran

Wednesday 3rd February: Talk by Mark Clinton, title to be decided.

Wednesday 3rd March: By the Way 2: Public Art in Ireland by Anne Lane

Wednesday 7th April: Excavations at Newmarket and Mill Street by Claire Walsh