27 Sep 2026 Trim Castle and Newtowntrim (guided walk)

Con Manning
Castle tour booked and confirmed for 25 people / 12.00
Lunch after castle tour at participants discretion.
Con Manning has kindly agreed to guide after lunch – walk to Sheep gate and yellow Steeple, then drive to Newtowntrim for guided tour of the sites, with a break for coffee (Marcie Regans).
[from Wikipedia]
Trim Castle (Irish: Caisleán Bhaile Átha Troim) is a castle on the south bank of the River Boyne in Trim, County Meath, Ireland, with an area of 30,000 m2.[1][2] Over a period of 30 years, it was built by Hugh de Lacy and his son Walter as the caput of the Lordship of Meath. The Irish Government currently own and are in charge of the care of the castle, through the state agency The Office of Public Works (OPW).
The land area of Meath was owned by the church but was granted to Hugh de Lacy in 1172 by Henry II of England as one of the new administrative areas.[4] De Lacy built a huge ringwork castle defended by a stout double palisade and external ditch on top of the hill. There may also have been further defences around the cliffs fringing the high ground. Part of a stone footed timber gatehouse lies beneath the present stone gate at the west side of the castle.